England and Wales

Types of Lawyer

In England the legal profession consists of two groups, Barristers and Solicitors. The qualification process for each is different and is dealt with by the seperate professional bodies; The Bar Council (for barristers) and the Law Society (for solicitors).

The Law Society has a Website which deals with the three routes to becoming an English Solicitor. This information is not therefore reproduced on this site.

  1. Solicitors.

    The solicitor is the first point of contact for individuals or organisations seeking legal advice and he may be called upon to deal with a wide vareity of problems, some involving EC law or the inter-action of English law with foreign and international law.

    Range of areas include; conveyancing, family matters, company and commercial work. Matters may or may not be litigious.

    The following link takes you to the Law Society web pages where the qualification process is explained.

    Qualification Process (link to Law Society site)

    Further Information of Legal Education in England and Wales


  2. Barristers.

    Essentially a consultant offering specialised services as an advocate and an adviser in all matters involving litigation and the practice of the courts.

    A barrister does not normally deal directly with members of the public but is instructed by a solicitor.

    A Queen's Counsel is a senior practising barrister appointed by the Queen on the advice of the Lord Chancellor. No further examination is required to become a Queen's Counsel. QC's comprise of about 10% of the practising bar.

    Qualification process (Link to Bar Council site)

    Further Information of Legal Education in England and Wales


  1. Bailiffs (click on left frame for links)

  1. Dr Julian Lonbay
    Copyright © 1995-2005 Julian Lonbay
    All rights reserved.
    Revised: 2004
    Comments and suggestions to improve this page are always welcome. Comment here.